Posted by: Ticktock | July 16, 2008

Cheap Wine Tastes Fine

 

My brother in-law writes the blog at cheapwineratings.com.  I’ve been waiting for some good skeptical wine-related news so that I can give him some cyber-attention.  And here it is:  amateurs can’t distinguish between cheap wines and expensive wines

This post also requires some background.  A family friend recently returned our unopened dinner gift bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon.  His reasoning was that they “don’t drink” Cabernet, which may very well be true, but we wondered if the real reason was that it was cheap table wine, the kind that comes in a jug.  My friend returning the gift really didn’t bother me much, since it can be said that bringing cheap wine as a gift is bad form in the first place, but my wife and I have had a good laugh about it anyway.

That’s why my wife had a good laugh when she sent me the link that proved expensive wines can only be appreciated by the most discerning professionals.  Regular folk like my wife and I will be just as happy with cheap jug wine.  So, don’t worry about spending extra on over-rated wines.  If you want an expert’s opinion on cheap wine, go to my bro-in-law’s blog and check out some of his recommendations.

Leave a Reply

Categories

