Posted by: Ticktock | February 2, 2009

Darwin Mix Tape Challenge

The ladies at Skepchick are hosting a challenge to make the best Darwin mix tape, and the winner gets candy + bragging rights.  Just for kicks, I replied with my top ten that I naturally selected from my itunes.  Here it is…

1. Birds and Ships – Billy Bragg and Wilco

2. You’re No God – Laura Marling

3. You Crawled Out of the Sea – Laura Marling

4. The Boy Who Sailed Around the World – Go Sailor

5. Island of the Honest Man – Hot Hot Heat

6. The Book of Right-On – Joanna Newsom

7. We Came Down From the Trees – Kathryn Williams

8. Homo Erectus – The Merediths

9. Fruit Tree – Nick Drake

10. Monkey Man – Toots & The Maytals

Responses

  1. Oh my gosh. I’m so shocked to see Homo Erectus listed there. I was in the Merediths and wrote the music to that song (not the lyrics, that was the singer Joe Meredith).

    Wow, what a surprise!

    • Hey there! We actually know each other from e-town. I’m shocked to see you visiting my blog, actually.

  2. It would be totally criminal if they didn’t include “I Come From the Water” by The Toadies. Catchy song, too:

    Here are the lyrics, and here’s where you can listen to a sample. If that doesn’t scream “Evolution!”, I don’t know what does.

    It was great to talk to you today at the teleconference with Dr. Brown. If you’re ever down in Lexington, let me know and we can get some coffee!

  3. Addendum: You can listen to the whole song here. Facebook, is there anything you can’t do?


Leave a Reply

Categories

