Posted by: Ticktock | February 13, 2009

Dinosaurs Unearthed!

I took the kids to the premiere of the Dinosaurs Unearthed exhibit at Cincinnati’s Museum Center today. As we approached the museum, I mentioned that we’d be seeing robotic statues and not real dinosaurs because dinosaurs are extinct; all of them died a long long time ago before there were humans.

Sasha asked, “what happened to the humans?”

I answered, “there weren’t any humans.”

Sasha asked, “were they in their homes?”

I answered, “No, there weren’t any humans on Earth when dinosaurs were alive.”

Sasha asked, “were the humans in space?”

I answered, “No, we hadn’t evolved yet.”

Sasha asked, “????”

I answered, “It’s hard to explain [to a 4 year old], but humans used to look like monkeys. We’ve changed over many many years to look like we do today.”

I’m not sure that registered with her, but I tried. I’m sure creationists would have a field day picking apart the above quote, but they can get over it.

I was thinking about those silly creationists as I wandered through the halls of dinosaurs and the galleries of fossilized bones. As I walked out of the exhibit, I complained to one of the museum staff…

“I only got one complaint, buddy. Your dinos ain’t got no saddles!”

(nervous laughter) “Yeah, those must have disappeared somehow.”

I think I know where they turned up…

Responses

  1. […] it be a traveling exhibit like the Dinosaurs Unearthed currently visiting? Would it have an animatronic Darwin greeting me as I entered? Would there be a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

