Posted by: Ticktock | March 6, 2009

Please Help Hollis Hawthorne


Hollis Hawthorne is a vivacious free-spirited dancer and cyclist. She is currently in a coma after being involved in a tragic motorcycle accident in India. Her family can’t afford to transport her to California, she has no insurance, and her immediate trauma care took place in a filthy rat-infested hospital.  She is recovering now in Chennai, India.

hollis

I’m told that she was wearing a helmet and driving safely. Anybody who has been to India (or seen Amazing Race) knows that the traffic on those streets can be an absolute nightmare.

Hollis was a graduate of the Department of Theatre and Dance at WKU, where I received my degree in acting, and though she only graduated a year after me, I did not know her very well. She was an acquaintance I wish I knew better.

I don’t know who regularly reads my blog, but whether you are a lurker or a commenter, I’m asking you to go to this site and consider donating any amount to the paypal account in her name. Stanford’s Hospital has accepted her as a new patient, and they’ve even agreed to help her for free, but her family needs to bring her home safely first.

I’ve made a donation.  Please help and spare some change for an artist in need. Thanks.

UPDATE 3/14/09:  HOLLI WILL FLY HOME TO SAN FRANCISCO SOON!  THANKS EVERYONE FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Leave a Reply

Categories

