Posted by: Ticktock | April 6, 2009

Happy Blogiversary to me!!!

I was browsing my stats earlier today and realized that I missed my blogiversary on April 4th. When I started Skeptic Dad a year ago, I have to admit that I was relatively new to the world of skepticism and freethought. In the year prior to starting my blog, my friend had turned me on to Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe and other podcasts. I also found myself naturally investigating claims such as the 9/11 conspiracy, the Jesus Tomb, What the bleep movie, JFK conspiracies, acupuncture, and other bits of nonsense.

I realized that, at the time, there was a relative gap in the blogosphere for parenting filtered through the lens of skepticism. I guess it’s a pretty niche market, but I’ve noticed that there has been an explosion of these types of blogs in the past year – even a skeptical parenting blog carnival.

Truth be told, I’m not a scientist (see my ‘who am I?‘ page). I’m a science advocate. I believe in science, and I support science, but my primary (and debatable) area of expertise is parenting. Some may wonder why I changed the name of my blog to ‘Science-Based Parenting’ if I’m not a scientist. Well, maybe that’s a valid point. My reasoning for the change is that I wanted to do more to emphasize and promote science (while honoring the example of the Science-Based Medicine blog). I was concerned that the parents who drifted in via google might be more likely to appreciate the context of science over their possible misconceptions of skepticism (as a synonym for cynic, for example).

I’ve learned a lot in the past year. If you haven’t checked out my ‘top posts‘, you should take a look-see and browse through my archive of my personal favorites.  You can also see my interviews with various scientists here if you like that sort of thing.

I’ve also met a lot of cool people. Click their names to read my articles about my encounters with them…

Thanks for sticking with me over the past year.  Whether you’ve been with me since last April or you are a recent visitor from the JREF, I really appreciate having an audience who subscribes to my posts, reads them, and makes the occasional comment.

I’m looking forward to the next year.  I plan on going to Dragoncon and the Ohio Skepticamp, so you can find me at those events.  Or, if you look hard enough, you can see me being dragged around by my kids at various locations in the Cincinnati area.

~Colin:

aka “skeptic dad”, aka “ticktock”, aka “Daddy”

img_0307

Responses

  1. Hey Skeptic Dad,

    You’re doing a great service for mankind. We need more parents like you who realize the importance of starting at home with our children when it comes to nurturing the skeptical method of obtaining knowledge. I hope you reach many more parents, but to all those that think they have absolute truth, let them keep on believing and we’ll continue doubting.

  2. I just ran into your blog-rather by accident…or ARE there any accidents? Anyway-Congrats on the blogoversary. I look forward to reading much more..

  3. Congrats!! I think I found your blog through Phil Plait’s blog. I have 2 little skeptics in the making so I don’t have much time to read many blogs, but I will definitely put yours on my daily blog list to read.

  4. Very cool. I’m going to DragonCon and dragging the little ones with me. Will you have your rugrats along? We could have a skeptical playdate!

    • My in-laws live in Atlanta, so I’ll be using that time to take a break from the kids. However, it would still be cool to meet up. What a great idea, by the way. I bet the kids will love all the costumes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

