Posted by: Ticktock | May 22, 2009

This Week in Parenting Science – 5/22/09

  • Dads gain sympathy weight – This information was based on a poll 5,000 new dads done by UK marketing company Onepoll, so take the data with a grain of salt, so to speak, but new fathers gained an average of 13 pounds each during the wife’s pregnancy, according to the results of this survey. Yikes! I must admit that my weight spiked considerably, and I haven’t been able to shake it off since. I primarily blame my weak will, and the stress of an impending new baby, but my wife’s cravings for ice cream didn’t help either.
  • Dads with daughters are more liberal? – Me, me, me! I’m a Dad, I have daughters, I’m liberal, and according to a study done by a couple of Harvard grad students, I’m not the only liberal Dad with daughters. News like this always makes me doubt the conclusions. I understand that raising daughters might make a parent more understanding of liberal social issues, but I can see how that logic can be turned upside down. The way that I interpret this study is that conservative parents don’t stop having kids until they have a son to maintain the bloodline, and liberal parents don’t care.  I don’t know.
  • Pregnant smokers have children who grow up to be smokers – This should come as no surprise that parents who smoke end up with kids who eventually smoke, but this University of Arizona seems to take that idea a step farther, saying that smoking actually changes the brain in the womb and makes addicts out of fetuses before they are born. The data shows that pregnant moms have children who are eventually four times more likely to be regular smokers.

Responses

  1. I’m guessing by ‘preserve the bloodline’ you mean ‘preserve the family name’ – as any child at all carries forward the bloodline.
    This is me being anal, sorry about that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

