Posted by: Ticktock | July 13, 2009

Confessions of a Fairy Hoaxer

Dear Olivia,

You never had a fairy living in your house. There’s no such thing as fairies.

It was I, your after-school nanny, who tricked you two summers ago. The prank started so innocently; I ate some of the food that you left out for the house fairy that you called a “brownie”. When you arrived at home, you were shocked to discover the morsels you left for the fairy were missing. My little trick really seemed to brighten your day.

Things started to snowball from there. I drew a self-portrait of the “brownie” and signed it. I pretended like the fairy was hoarding objects such as cotton balls for it’s bed. I left recorded messages in a little squeaky voice. And each time, you truly believed, without one faltering doubt, that your house was inhabited by a magical fairy. You never once thought that I would do that,  or at least, you never told me if you did.

Looking back, this hoax was against everything I stood for. I let my mischievous side get the best of me. I personally hate being deceived by people, especially people who are in a position of power over me, so it was hypocritical of me to do the same to you. Once the hoax gained momentum, it was near impossible to stop without hurting your feelings.

Even though hoaxing fairies seemed like an innocent thing, I realize now that I cornered myself (and your parents) into a perpetual deception that will only end in a deep feeling of betrayal.

I heard that you were recently listening to the recordings of the brownie two years after I taped them. How long will you believe? Will there be a time when you realize that I was the one who tricked you? Will someone tell you or will you just figure it out? Or will you read this some day and realize it years after I committed the offense?

I would admit my mistake to your face, but I don’t have the courage. I hope that you’ll realize that my mischievous intentions were to foster your imagination and make you happy. I know those intentions were misguided, but I hope the deception really did help you imagine something fantastical and fun happening in your house. Maybe you’ll learn an important virtue in the truth that I laid out here. Maybe you’ll see how easily we are deceived, and maybe you’ll think twice about your beliefs in the future. I don’t know.

But sitting here in cyber space is my apology, a lower-case scarlet letter for all to see. Let this be a confession and a warning to other hoaxers thinking of tricking a young mind into believing an untruth. It’s never worth it.

“Oh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practice to deceive”-Sir Walter Scott

Respectfully,

Colin T

Leave a Reply

Categories

