Posted by: Ticktock | August 3, 2009

This Week’s ‘Grain of Salt’ on Skeptic Zone

If you haven’t taken the time to download The Skeptic Zone podcast, then crack open a ‘Violet Crumble’ and head over to itunes and start subscribing. The Skeptic Zone is the Australian podcast for science and reason (a miiiiracle of technooooology). Each week, you’ll find interesting interviews, regular segments by intelligent reporters, and a conversation between skeptics at a pub.

This week, Eran Segev gives practical advice for how to raise a little skeptic in his regular segment called ‘Grain of Salt’. I’ll list below a few points that he makes, but make sure you listen to the whole episode to get the rest of the story.

  • Raising your kid to think for herself is the antithesis of indoctrination.
  • Lead by example. Be a model for critical thinking and your child will naturally behave the same way.
  • Don’t be afraid to say “I don’t know” when you actually don’t know, and use that as an opportunity to mutually discover new things.
  • Ask your child “What do you think” when you feel that they are capable of discovering the answer for themselves.
  • Teach a love of science and reality!
  • Be enthusastic!

Eran continues with advice on how to deal with Santa, the tooth fairy, imaginary friends, science-based questions, and other ways to share skepticism. It’s a short concise audio article, but a good reminder for parents who are worried about how to foster a child who thinks critically.

Responses

  1. Awesome, I need another podcast. 20+ hours of podcasts is not enough for me! (really!)

    I often think on how to raise a critical thinker, especially since I have a step daughter who is 13 and does not think critically. I think I was the same way when I was 13. I hope to avoid it with my other little ones, though I am not sure if teenage-hood just makes one a gullible person. I’m sure there are wise teens out there, I just haven’t met any!

  2. I had a personal episode I posted about on my blog. Some kids don’t get the whole skeptic parent thing but I’m pretty sure it will eventually rub off on them.
    http://idoubtit.wordpress.com/2009/08/01/meaning-for-the-young/


Leave a Reply

Categories

