Posted by: philosodad | August 17, 2009

New Poster

These introductory posts are always so awkward. I tell you the nice things about me, you look at me like I have a bat hanging from my nostrils.

My name is Paul, and I’ll be posting under the handle “philosodad”. I am, in no particular order, a skeptic, a father of two, a husband, and a graduate student in computer science. My children are a boy and girl, born in February, 2007 and 2009 respectively. They are nicknamed the Highlander and the Dark Phoenix, which my wife Kelly finds endlessly annoying. We all live in Atlanta, GA.

As a skeptic, I’m most interested in applying reality based thinking to ethics and aesthetics, since the hard sciences seem to have metaphysics taken care of. As a parent, I’m most interested in raising strong, independent, empathetic children who have fewer regrets than most.

I recognize that this might be something of a challenge.

Responses

  1. “As a parent, I’m most interested in raising strong, independent, empathetic children who have fewer regrets than most.”

    Hey isn’t that just code for activist children? Ha. Just kidding. Welcome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

