Posted by: Jason | September 8, 2009

Hey, who’s the New Guy?

So I suppose introductions are in order.  A little about me then.

My name is Jason, I am a very happily married father of four, a self employed Former Marine, and a lover of art and science, and a Card Carrying Skeptic.  I like to know what I know and know how I know it.  I have taken about 34 trips around the Sun so far, and most of them have been great!

TickTock invited me to contribute here after learning about my organisation and meeting at DragonCon recently.  More on that later.  At first I was going to simply write a guest post about Skeptikids and leave it at that, but after meeting TickTock and a couple other SkepticDads in Atlanta, I think I’m in good company here.

I believe that the happiest among us are the ones that have managed to keep their natural curiosity and wonder about the world we live in.  And I think it is a primary responsibility of mine to encourage that curiosity in my kids, and help them to hang on to it.

As I write this at 7:05am, my six year old has come out of bed with his Beginner’s Japanese book in one hand, wiping the sleep from his eyes with the other,  asking me the time in Japanese while trying to write the Kanji on his whiteboard.

So far so good.

Jason

Responses

  1. I just checked out your website. Awesome! What a great idea. Look forward to reading future posts.

  2. I like the way you put it : “34 trips around the Sun so far”

    I must remember that one …

  3. Hi Jason,

    Do you mind if I ask why your son is learning Japanese ?

    I just ask because I’m expecting my first kid with my Japanese wife, and we’re wondering how many languages to start speaking to it…

    I’m thinking each of us will speak a separate language to the kid so it learns both, but doesn’t get confused about which words are in which language set…


Leave a Reply

Categories

