Posted by: Ticktock | January 21, 2010

Jenny McCarthy’s Belly Laughs for Sale

Jenny McCarthy wrote a book on pregnancy called “Belly Laughs” when she was still a lovable B-list celebrity known for her comedic talents and sex appeal. At the time, I had no way of knowing that she would become the ‘poster mom’ in a campaign of disinformation against vaccines and pharmaceutical companies, so I’m not ashamed to say that I waited in line to have her autograph a copy for my pregnant wife.

The book is really funny, if you can get past the upsetting image of her shouting down experts on Larry King. The autograph is perfect for your pregnant friends named Amy because the autograph is inscribed “To Amy – Here’s to Shits and Giggles ~ Jenny McCarthy”. I kid you not.

Amy and I have decided that the best thing to do is to put her book up for sale on ebay and donate the money to “Every Child By Two“, a non-profit advocating vaccines. You might remember that they are the group represented by Amanda Peet. Let’s take a look at her PSA for educational purposes…

If you are interested in buying my autographed copy of “Belly Laughs”, you can check out my ebay listing. Thanks for your support.

Next month, I will be selling another autographed book by a purveyor of woo. Sadly, that one will be one that makes me much more ashamed than this one. For “shits and giggles”, take a guess in the comments section what book you think it may be, and I’ll tell you if you’re hot or cold.

Responses

  1. I’m going to guess that it’s something by Deepak Chopra. He’s a very plolific writer 🙂

    • Worse than deepak, but this author has been on some of the same media outlets. So, I will say luke warm.

  2. Something by Dr. Oz/ Rozien. “YOU! The owner’s manual” springs to mind… (I’m ashamed to say that Rozien spoke at one of our conferences– but how can you not like someone who says avocados and sex are good for you?)

  3. Worse than Dr. Oz. You’re getting colder.

  4. Not Dr. Sears!!!

  5. Gary Null.

    • Wrong brand of woo. This guy is not in health. He’s the type that phil plait might tussle with. Oh no. I’ve said too much!

  6. Sorry, I give up. I love Phil Plait, but astro is not my “area of woo expertise.”

  7. Good for you. Way to put her book to some good use.

  8. I don’t know, but I do know that no one should ever use “Comic Sans” for anything. Ever. Not even for a PSA about childhood vaccinations. I want the guy who put those closing titles in fired.

  9. I’m assuming you’ve seen this, right? (Lancet officially retracts the vaccine-autism paper from 1998)

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20100202/ts_afp/healthdiseasevaccinationautism

  10. For sure – smells like victory!


Leave a Reply

Categories

