Posted by: Ticktock | August 30, 2010

By the power of Dragoncon! I HAVE THE POWER!!!

In two days, I’ll be driving down to Atlanta with Rob and Laurie Tarr. I’m sure we’ll be geeking about the nerd buffet that will be waiting for us in Dixie. This year, I’ll be wearing a costume…

I used to be a big GIJOE fan in my younger years, so I thought I’d put my nostalgia on display for all to see. Wish me luck that I don’t get tackled by law enforcement toting my submachine gun around the city.

I’m also going to be proudly displaying a new shirt that I designed (available for sale on Zazzle).

I support Phil Plait’s message that better science communication comes from less sarcasm, less name calling, and less insults. Basically, don’t be a d***! I’ve personally seen people turn away from my message when I’ve gotten snarky in articles I’ve written in the past. I’m not saying I’m a perfect example of a nice skeptic, but I strive to be a better communicator than I’ve been in the past. So, sign me up for Phil’s team… oh, and go check out his new Discovery Channel show, BAD UNIVERSE. The first episode aired last night, and in this clip, he makes a dirty comet just like we learned on Podcast Beyond Belief from Nicole Gugliucci on a recent episode…

Podcast Beyond Belief will be recording our live episode on Saturday night at the Hilton. We’ll have three special guests to talk about our most common areas of interest on the podcast. On the subject of atheism/secular-humanism, we’ll be bringing back our blogfather, Mr. Dale McGowan. On the subject of health/medicine, we’ll be talking to Shorty Award Winning Australian, Dr. Rachie Dunlop. And on the subject of skepticism and education, we’ll be talking to the amiable Australian, Ms. Kylie Sturgess.

For those who can’t attend, the skeptic track will be live-streaming some of the panels. Unfortunately, Podcast Beyond Belief will not be streamed because we are guests on the podcast track, so you’ll have to wait to listen to the actual episode when it’s published. However, we’ve been given permission to record two panels that are relevant to our listeners… “Raising Skeptical Geeks” (featuring Adam Savage from Mythbusters) and “Skepticism in the Classroom”. So, when those episodes are published, just listen to them with your eyes closed, picturing yourself surrounded by steampunkers, superheroes, and fairies.

See you at the con! And if you see a grey camouflaged saboteur – say hello.

Responses

  1. Sounds like fun!

  2. This is your mother speaking. By the sound of things, you need one – a mother, that is. Do NOT, I repeat, Do NOT walk around the streets of Atlanta with a fake machine gun…or a real one, for that matter. If you must return to your childhood, get a red squirt gun. A small red squirt gun.

  3. MOM! EVERYONE ELSE IS DOING IT!!!

    *shuffles off to get cheap red squirt gun*
    *grumble grumble*


Leave a Reply

Categories

