Posted by: littlez2008 | September 14, 2010

I was late to the “Don’t Be a Dick” party

Phil Plait – Don’t Be A Dick from JREF on Vimeo.

This is Phil Plait’s speech from TAM. I didn’t get to go and have missed much of the raging debate over how to debate that’s been happening on skeptic blogs. (I’m busy changing diapers and earning a living, not to mention occasionally writing screenplays.) Phil touches on many of the same ideas I just posted about.

My favorite quotes:

“Not everyone is born a skeptic.”

“How many of you lost your faith because someone called you an idiot?”

His story about talking to a high school girl who is a young Earth creationist (very end of the speech) is pitch perfect. I speak as someone who went to a governor’s school like Phil describes in Georgia, so I feel like I know this young girl.

Responses

  1. I *was* that high school girl. And, basically, I went to college and studied geology and figured out what the evidence points to. Realistically that is probably the best way to educate people – provide them with ways to seek out the evidence for themselves.


Leave a Reply

Categories

