Posted by: Chris | September 24, 2010

I am the older, but not necesarily wiser one

Once upon a time everything was going just as we planned. Hubby and I were engineers at a large company, we had almost completely remodeled our house, had lots of savings, belonged to a health club, went skiing, had a nice collection of wine and had traveled. So after eight years of marriage we decided it was time to start a family… and then everything changed.

I had a lovely pregnancy. I watched what I ate (though I did get a bit tired of yogurt), stayed away from our collection of wine and went swimming regularly. It was a fairly difficult labor, the poor baby got stuck, and I was ripped up to the point I was told I had to stay in the hospital for four days. But he was finally here and in my arms and all was well.

Until two days later when he shivered. A couple hours later he shivered again, then a few minutes later it happened again but stronger. I called in the nurse and she witnessed the shiver turn into a full seizure.

And that is how my world changed.

Hi, my name is Chris and I am the one with three big kids:

1) Big Guy (sometimes BigBoy): 22 year old son who was our intensive training course in parenthood, and it still continues.

2) Math Man: 20 year old son whose terrible twos lasted from the time he was 18 months old until he was 7. He is a sophomore majoring in engineering.

3) The Linguist: 16 year old daughter who thinks Japanese is easy, and has many talents from music, art, driving me nuts and making me laugh.

I have lots of stories, read lots of books and I am very opinionated. I have done IEPs, slept next to child in the hospital, spent many hours waiting for kids while they were in therapy, swim lessons, music lessons and doctors’ offices, cleaned unimaginable messes and I am still stumbling my way through this journey!

Responses

  1. I look forward to your future posts – sounds like you have ALOT of experience to share :o)

  2. Great post!

  3. Looking forward to reading your posts.

  4. Thanks to all!


Leave a Reply

Categories

