Posted by: littlez2008 | November 4, 2010

Best. Costume. Ever.

And I think this woman might be my new favorite mom.  This is her adorable son, dressed as Daphne from Scooby Doo.  Man, those boots!  She got some funny reactions from moms at her preschool and writes about it here.  It’s a pretty great blog post that seems to be going viral on Facebook.  Best part:

If a set of purple sparkly tights and a velvety dress is what makes my baby happy one night, then so be it. If he wants to carry a purse, or marry a man, or paint fingernails with his best girlfriend, then ok. My job as his mother is not to stifle that man that he will be, but to help him along his way. Mine is not to dictate what is ‘normal’ and what is not, but to help him become a good person.

How right on is this lady?

Responses

  1. Right. On.

  2. Much cuter than the Daphne we see in the movies.

  3. He’s almost as cute as my daughter who was also Daphne for Halloween.

  4. I was thinking about this just this morning as I was stealing Halloween candy from my children (they don’t like chocolate anyways) and I remembered, I’ve done this exact thing. In 1976 or 77, myself, my brother Tony and our best friend Anthony Sansone dressed up as Charlies Angels. We had wigs, skirts, stuffed bras, and cute little purses to hold our way to realistic toy pistols (this is decades before columbine, my pistol was an automatic cap gun !)
    And we were a Huge Hit! Nobody said boo to us about it! Is this an area of parent child relations that has gotten worse in 30 years?

    I’ll hafta see if I can find the picture of the three of us doing the pose.


Leave a Reply

Categories

