Posted by: Ticktock | November 12, 2010

IMAX: Hubble

I’ve taken the kids to “Hubble” at the IMAX twice now. It’s really a thrilling introduction to the shuttle program, from zero gravity training at NASA’s swimming pools, to the thrust of blasting off into space, to the tense moments as the astronauts try to fix the world’s most delicate instrument in space with stubby-fingered gloves.

I also appreciated Leonardo Dicaprio’s humanist-themed narration. The film focused on our home planet’s uniqueness in the universe, and how the Hubble is helping us put Earth into context with the wonders and immensity of the cosmos, much like Carl Sagan did a few decades ago.

I’ve yet to see “Hubble” in 3D as it was intended. I can only imagine how amazing it would be. But even without the love-em-or-hate-em glasses, the film really takes you on a trip through the blackness of space and into the dust of a nearby nebula. It’s spectacular!

Check out this video on how they transformed 2D Hubble images into the third dimension…

Responses

  1. I saw it in IMAX 3D and it was extraordinary! I sometimes have trouble seeing stuff in 3D with the red/green glasses (thanks to a lazy eye), but the grey polarized light ones are much better for me. Some of the effects were astonishing. I loved it, the narration was great and just seeing what Hubble sees was awe inspiring. A superb film!

  2. I have also seen the film twice, and it must be seen in 3D! If you can find it in 3D near you, take the kids again! To be honest, the parts of the film that are footage from the mission don’t benefit a whole lot from the 3D. But the Hubble imagery flythroughs in 3D are spectacular!

  3. I’ve got plans to go down and see this at Union Terminal. I’ve heard great stuff about it.

  4. Saw it in 3D at the Tennessee Aquarium. I think the 3D did add something, but overall the movie showcases an amazing accomplishment. (Actually, what I remember most is freezing in the ice-cold theater!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

