Posted by: Lexi | January 16, 2012

Hi Everybody!

My name is Lexi and I’m the newest contributing writer here at Skeptic Family. I’ve been writing about skepticism and parenting on my own blog for a few years now, and I’m excited to join the Skeptic Family team.

I got into skepticism a few years ago when I was pregnant with my Tiny Human. I couldn’t help but be overwhelmed by the vast amount of BS surrounding pregnancy and childbirth. But when a nurse at my work refused to give me a flu shot because it contained Thimerosal, I decided to start doing some studying on my own.

I am a scientist and a geek, so skepticism fit perfectly for me, and I’ve been teaching critical thinking and the scientific method ever since. I am a member of a Humanist Family Co-op, where I teach preschool aged kids everything from comparative religion to physics. I also talk about skepticism and skeptical topics at public speaking events every so often. I love being involved in my local community, as well as the larger community of Skeptics and Humanists on the internet. I’m really looking forward to writing more here!

Responses

  1. Hello, and welcome!

    And hurray! A real scientist!

    I think I am at my explanation point limit. I’ll be back soon (cooking up something in my head between medical appointments and dodging snow).

    • Well, an unemployed scientist. But I’ll be a real scientist for money soon, I hope!

  2. Glad to have you as a contributor! Welcome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

